Don’t ask people to do what you can do. It might be easy for you but not for them

When I was a kid my mother always compared me with my nephews or classmates. In elementary school she always told me why they can understand and take big grades on math and history and you always failed on tests. The 8 years of elementary school were a nightmare for me. I kept failing at math, history, physics, biology, geography and all the subjects that I can’t practice to understand. I did good at sport, chemistry, english, grammar.

Every teacher from elementary school thought I wouldn’t make it to high school, but I managed to enter to a high school that was more practical, with things you use in your daily life. The domain of the high school was commerce and public alimentation and tourism, so there I had no chemistry, a little of history, no physics, no biology and more subjects about commerce and tourism that you use in your daily life. I’ve learn to analyze by eye the quality of food and non-food product and by the quality to see if the sale price is fair. I know what happens when you go to a hotel and what are your rights as a tourist, I’ve learn economy that I used in my own company.

So from a more theoretical elementary school where I failed and struggled to graduate, I entered in a practical and less theoretical high school and I finished every year with first degree diplomas and big marks and I was actually the only one from my class who graduate on time from high school.

So my mother wanted me to excel on theoretical subjects like other kids but that wasn’t for me. I have to do it and practice it in order to understand it. That’s why I finished my university’s computer exam in 5 minutes from the 2 hours they gave us.

That’s when I realize you shouldn’t ask people to do what is easy for you or others.

One thought on “Don’t ask people to do what you can do. It might be easy for you but not for them

Leave a Reply

